Süleyman Demirel University (SDU) is a public sector Turkish university, located in Isparta. It has around 70.000 students, and is one of the largest Turkish institutions. Programs are offered in fields of agricultural research, medicine, engineering, and business studies etc. The university has been approved by the Erasmus programme, and is one of the members of the European University Association.

Süleyman Demirel University in Turkey

History of Süleyman Demirel University

The Süleyman Demirel University was founded on 11 July 1992. Its name is after Süleyman Demirel. The faculty of Engineering and Architecture is the first faculty of this institution, and was famous as Isparta State Engineering and Architecture Academy, founded in 1976.

Academic Structure of Süleyman Demirel University

The Süleyman Demirel University has 15 faculties, 12 vocational high schools, 2 higher schools, and 4 graduate schools.

The list of its faculties is as below:

  1. Faculty of Fine Arts
  2. Faculty of Aquatic Products
  3. Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  4. Faculty of Dentistry
  5. Faculty of Theology
  6. Faculty of Economic and Administrative Sciences
  7. Faculty of Engineering
  8. Faculty of Architecture
  9. Faculty of Forestry
  10. Faculty of Technical Education
  11. Faculty of Medicine
  12. Faculty of Agriculture
  13. Faculty of Health Sciences
  14. Faculty of Technology
  15. Faculty of Law
  16. Faculty of Education

Research Facilities at Süleyman Demirel University

The aim of Süleyman Demirel University is to be the best research-oriented institution of Europe. It has 29 research and implementation centers which are operating in scientific and technological areas. The university’s research centers are:

  • SDU Rose Research Center
  • Experimental and Observatory Student Research and Implementation Center
  • Earthquake and Geotechnics Research and Implementation Center
  • Fashion Design & Ready-made Clothes Research and Implementation Center
  • Remote Sensing Research and Implementation Center
  • Renewable Energy Resources Center for Research and Application
  • Technological Materials Research and Development and Calibration Center

Campus of Süleyman Demirel University

The main campus of Süleyman Demirel University is occupying most of the Çünür suburb of Isparta. It is spread in an area of 300000 square meters. Most of the centers and faculties of this university are on-campus.

Student Life at Süleyman Demirel University

The student life at Süleyman Demirel University is ideal. This is situated in a city that offers unlimited entertainment options. the Süleyman Demirel University students are free to participate in on-campus activities and can visit the nearby cities and towns during weekends.

The university annually hosts spring festival, held in the month of May, as well as an international jazz festival in December.

Scholarships and Financial Support at Süleyman Demirel University

The Süleyman Demirel University has a range of scholarships for the students. It offers over 700 food scholarships annually. Aside from this, around 220 students are given cash scholarship by the General Directorate of Credits and Dormitories.

Several scholarships are need based and performance based which are offered during the academic sessions to eligible students only.

Student Clubs at Süleyman Demirel University

Süleyman Demirel University is proud to have 64 student clubs including Rock Community, Industrial and Quality Club, Aviation Club, Turkish Folklore Club, Theatre Club, Radio Club, Mountaineering and Orienteering Club, and others.


Leave a reply