The Middle East Technical University (also known as METU), is a public sector technical university. It is situated in Ankara, Turkey. The university has put special emphasis on high quality research and education facilities in the fields of engineering and natural sciences. It offers around 40 undergraduate programs within 5 faculties, and 97 masters and 62 doctorate programs within 5 graduate schools.

Middle East Technical University of Turkey

Campus of Middle East Technical University

The university’s main campus is expanded in an area of 4,500 ha. The university has a forest area of 7,500 acres, and the natural lake Eymir. Its overall environment is student-friendly. The university is proud of its over 95,000 alumni worldwide. The main language of instruction at Middle East Technical University is English, but some courses in Turkish language are also offered.

More than twenty thousand international students choose Middle East Technical University to be their destination of studies in Europe. Almost all of its departments are known to accept the top 0.1% of the nearly 1.5 million applicants. The university used to be funded by the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBİTAK), and offers a range of scholarships to brilliant and deserving students.

History of Middle East Technical University

The Middle East Technical University was founded under the name “Orta Doğu Teknoloji Enstitüsü” (Middle East Institute of Technology) on November 15, 1956, for contributing towards the development of education in Turkey and surrounding countries of the Middle East, Balkans, and Caucasus. This was made possible when skilled force was being created in the fields of natural and social sciences.

In the early years of its foundation, the university used to host in a small building belonging to the Social Security Office of Retirees in Kızılay. It also had a building close to the Grand National Assembly of Turkey. In 1963, the university moved to its current location west of Ankara city center, and became a prominent Turkish university in just a couple of years. During 1956, the Department of Architecture was established, followed by the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 1957. In the 1957–1958 academic year, the Faculty of Architecture, the Faculty of Engineering, and the Faculty of Administrative Sciences were established. In 1959, the Faculty of Arts and Sciences was formed, while the Faculty of Education was initiated in 1982.

Faculties and Departments of Middle East Technical University

METU consists of 42 academic departments. The five faculties are as following:

  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Economic and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering

In addition to these, it has the Department of Basic English and the Department of Modern Languages, the Technical Vocational School of Higher Education, the Department of Turkish Language, and the Department of Music and Fine Arts.

The Middle East Technical University has five graduate schools:

  • Graduate School of Applied Mathematics
  • Graduate School of Informatics
  • Graduate School of Marine Sciences (Institute of Marine Sciences – IMS)
  • Graduate School of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Graduate School of Social Sciences

The university organizes various events, conferences, and arranges numerous co-curricular activities for its students. It strives to boost both their mental and physical capabilities.


Leave a reply